Archive for April 12th, 2012

April 12, 2012

Studio Work: Shallow Depth of Field

I recently converted my basement into a photo studio.  It isn’t as fancy as it sounds (a blog post on it will follow sometime) as it consists of repurposing many items or going the DIY route to avoid the high costs of some studio items.  But it does mean that when I’m too busy to head out, or the weather is just not cooperating, I can head into the studio and try out some things.  When any of my orchids or other plants bloom, I am sure to find my way into the basement.  This image is of a Christmas cactus in bloom.  Again, I don’t do this type of photography very often, and I should try it more.  I usually shoot at small apertures for the enhanced depth of field.  But once I had those images, I thought I would try the shallow depth of field look.  I love the ethereal feel of the image; it has a dreamlike quality to it.  ISO800, 60 mm f5, 1/320, SB-800 flash for a little fill light.

As I have said before, photographers often have preferred styles.  It’s what makes you an identifiable photographer and sets you apart. But, once you have those images, step back, have a coffee, and try something that is outside of your style comfort-zone.  Look for examples from others for inspiration if you need it.  Even if you just make a mistake while taking a planned photo, don’t delete it in camera.  Wait and look at it on the big screen.