Archive for April 1st, 2012

April 1, 2012

Autumn in Paris

Paris is an iconic destination.  It is also well photographed and it is hard to take images of such well-known locations in a new light.  In late September last year I spent a couple of days in Paris while en route to Madagascar.  It really wasn’t enough time to see the city in any detail, so I focused on a few locations that I really wanted to shoot.  And to try something a little different, I used my ND filters a lot.  This image of Notre Dame was shot on a tripod (despite many asserting that you can’t use a tripod in Paris, I only had one location where I was asked not to use it). It was shot at ISO 100, 14 mm, f16 @ 0.6 sec using my 0.9 ND filter.  I love the combination of a sense of static history and bustling motion.  Processed in LR4 to add a touch of vibrance and just warm up the front of the cathedral a little.

Tourists at Notre Dame